Live-in caregiver admissions to reach an all-time high in 2014

Government taking action to address growing backlog

Ottawa, October 29, 2013 —Canada’s Citizenship and Immigration Minister Chris Alexander today announced aggressive new action to address the growing backlog and increasing processing times in the Live-in Caregiver Program (LCP).

Wait times in the Live-in Caregiver Program have grown to levels that are unacceptable to caregivers,” said Alexander. “Our government has already slashed application backlogs for skilled workers and parents and grandparents. Now, we turn our attention to the LCP.”

Canada will admit 17,500 permanent residents through the Live-in Caregiver Program in 2014 – almost double the number this year. This represents the highest number of LCP admissions in a single year since the program began in 1993.

Application backlogs and processing times have grown steadily in recent years. The number of caregivers completing their work obligations and becoming eligible for permanent residency has routinely outpaced the planned levels of admissions from the program.

Alexander added: “Live-in caregivers participating in the program came here with the promise of permanent residency after meeting work obligations in looking after the children, elderly or disabled people in their care. We need to honour our commitment to them.”

The Live-in Caregiver Program facilitates the entry of qualified caregivers into Canada when employers have not been able to find Canadians to fill these positions. Caregivers can apply for permanent residence in Canada after working for two years during their first four years after entry into Canada. As a result, a record number of live-in caregivers will be admitted as permanent residents of Canada in 2014.

The LCP is unique. Through the LCP, caregivers have a direct path to permanent residence that no other Temporary Foreign Workers enjoy. For more information about the program, please contact our company at (778) 372-3115

Error. Page cannot be displayed. Please contact your service provider for more details. (11)

住家保姆移民签证将于2014年创历史最高记录

住家保姆移民签证将于2014年创历史最高记录

政府采取行动设法解决不断增长的档案积压

据渥太华2013年10月29日报道-加拿大公民及移民部部长克里斯.亚历山大当天宣布了一个积极的新行动计划,设法解决不断增长的住家保姆移民项目的档案积压和处理时间的。
“住家保姆移民签证的等待时间已经发展到保姆们不能接受的程度,”亚历山大说:“加拿大政府已经削减了技术移民和父母、祖父母的移民申请档案积压。现在我们把注意力转向住家保姆移民项目。”
加拿大将于2014年通过住家保姆移民政策发放17,500份永久居民签证,该计划几乎是今年人数的两倍。这代表了自从1993年该项目开始以来一年内的住家保姆移民签证的最高数字。
近几年来,移民申请积压,办理时间稳步的增长。大量的保姆即将完成她们的工作任务,同时将成为合格的永久居民。这种情况超过了该项目常规计划的签证数量的速度。
亚历山大补充道:“加拿大政府承诺过只要住家保姆达到了照顾老弱病残的工作任务要求后,就能成为永久居民。她们为此参与了该项目来到这里。我们应该遵守我们的诺言。”
当雇主没能在加国找到他想雇用的保姆时,住家保姆项目方便合格的保姆进入加拿大。在保姆进入加拿大前四年期间工作两年以后,可以申请加国的永久居民。因此,在2014年住家保姆得到加拿大永久居民签证数将创记录。
住家保姆移民签证计划是一个特别的项目。通过该项目,保姆拥有其它临时外籍工人享受不到的获取永久居民的捷径。关于住家保姆移民签证的更多信息,请与我公司联络。
联系电话:778-372-3115

以上稿件由BTCA Immigration and Investment Consultant提供
(778)372-3115

Error. Page cannot be displayed. Please contact your service provider for more details. (5)